Lenses and apertures

Centerfires, rimfires, pistol cartridges and everything in between.
ShootingSight
B Poster
B Poster

Lenses and apertures

Post by ShootingSight »

Brand new to the site, so I thought I should introduce myself. My name is Art Neergaard, I never shot cowboy anything, but I am a Service Rifle shooter.

I am not a doctor. I am a mechanical engineer, photographer, I know optical physics some. 50 years old, presbiopic, can't see the front post anymore, so I studied the optics of apertures and lenses to figure out what a rear sight ought to do, and developed a couple of products to help shooters see better, and aim better. I started a small company, ShootingSight LLC to sell these for Service Rifle use.

Recently, a cowboy silhouette shooter contacted me about fitting some of my products to a Williams sight for his rifle, which I did, so I figured I would poke around on the forum and see if any of the lessons from Service Rifle shooting apply, and I'd like to ask your help. I'll give a description of what I know about shooting vision, and end up with some specific questions, and then look to you for general input to see if it is worth anything to your discipline.