Page 1 of 1

Riddle me this!

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2007 10:33 pm
by Jim Beckley
The latest rule book that I have is March, 2005 with the changes. Page 18, rule 9.4 Defective Cartridge: Halfway down, Improperly loaded rounds shall NOT be accepted as "Alibis". Improperly loaded rounds include those which will not chamber, are not properly charged with powder, incorporate reversed primers or do not operate normally. A defective cartridge as difined in this Rule allows a refire, but use of wrong ammunition does not allow a refire. Now say a shooter has a squibb load on his third shot, and before he gets the bullet pounded out of the barrel, time has expired. The load without the powder is clearly a 0, but what about the 4th and 5th shot, alibi or not?

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:30 pm
by BlauBear
Hmmm... Maybe a wimp answer, but if a bullet is stuck in the barrel, my match is over so the 4th & 5th shots are pretty much moot.

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 5:57 am
by Gator
Would a firearm with an obstructed bore not become a "disabled firearm"?
Gator

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:47 pm
by Jerry G
That rule should only apply to the one shot in reference, not the following shots. If you have a malfunction that causes time to run out before you finish your string, you get an alibi if you call it at the time of the bad load. The bad load is a 0 but you get to shoot the rest of the string.

I hope I didn't muddle that up too much.

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:32 pm
by Jim Beckley
Gator, That is correct. It falls under the 10.9 Disabled Rifle and there goes the shooters one alibi per match as the rules state!