Riddle me this!

General BS, Match Results, Upcoming Events and all around Gossip...
Post Reply
User avatar
Jim Beckley
Master Poster
Master Poster
Posts: 1158
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Cave Creek, Arizona

Riddle me this!

Post by Jim Beckley »

The latest rule book that I have is March, 2005 with the changes. Page 18, rule 9.4 Defective Cartridge: Halfway down, Improperly loaded rounds shall NOT be accepted as "Alibis". Improperly loaded rounds include those which will not chamber, are not properly charged with powder, incorporate reversed primers or do not operate normally. A defective cartridge as difined in this Rule allows a refire, but use of wrong ammunition does not allow a refire. Now say a shooter has a squibb load on his third shot, and before he gets the bullet pounded out of the barrel, time has expired. The load without the powder is clearly a 0, but what about the 4th and 5th shot, alibi or not?
User avatar
BlauBear
Uber Master Poster
Uber Master Poster
Posts: 2734
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:43 am
Location: Fort Smith, AR

Post by BlauBear »

Hmmm... Maybe a wimp answer, but if a bullet is stuck in the barrel, my match is over so the 4th & 5th shots are pretty much moot.
"If the America people ever allow private banks to control the issuance of their currencies, first by inflation and then by deflation, the banks and corporations that will grow up around them will deprive the people of all their prosperity" - TJ
Gator
AA Poster
AA Poster
Posts: 465
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 2:13 pm
Location: North Georgia Mountains

Post by Gator »

Would a firearm with an obstructed bore not become a "disabled firearm"?
Gator
Jerry G
Uber Master Poster
Uber Master Poster
Posts: 2746
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 2:34 pm
Location: Casa Grande, AZ

Post by Jerry G »

That rule should only apply to the one shot in reference, not the following shots. If you have a malfunction that causes time to run out before you finish your string, you get an alibi if you call it at the time of the bad load. The bad load is a 0 but you get to shoot the rest of the string.

I hope I didn't muddle that up too much.
User avatar
Jim Beckley
Master Poster
Master Poster
Posts: 1158
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Cave Creek, Arizona

Post by Jim Beckley »

Gator, That is correct. It falls under the 10.9 Disabled Rifle and there goes the shooters one alibi per match as the rules state!
Post Reply