Finding new, younger shooters

General BS, Match Results, Upcoming Events and all around Gossip...
durant7
A Poster
A Poster

Finding new, younger shooters

Post by durant7 »

A perennial topic.

I started shooting MS in 1999 under the the mentorship of Nomad, aka Ernie Kuney. Sadly he has passed on. Now, 22 years later, I am still playing the game somewhat more casually than in my Texas years. And, with COVID and work, I have not been able to travel or practice, prep the way one should before pushing off for Ridgeway, Pe Ell, Sunshine Classic or other event. NH has gravitated to Cowboy. Not much "scope" gun shooting happening be it 1/5th or club rifle on 1/2 scale animals. Currently, we get 12-16 shooters for CLA and it seems to be the healthiest of all the disciplines. But CLA is not a place to start for new shooters. I know I would never have started there. Ernie told me to find a NS522, Weaver KT15 and Federal 510 to start. Within 2 months I had a starter 1/5th gun.

Club Rifle is the place to start. I am heavily biased as this is they way I started at Haltom City. In general terms, 2nd Sunday was a fun match where EVERYONE came and shot 1/2 scale animals with their 1/5th rifles...or...even an old Mossberg on a 2x4. The focus was on hooking new shooters. A new shooter would show up with their rifle. Be humored for a bit and then handed a 1/5th rifle and ammo that was sorted and you shot squadded with that veteran who took you under their wing. You saw them shoot 38 animals and hopefully you hit 12. You came back. Maybe this time with your rifle a bit more sorted. More coaching. More advice. Then one day you came to the 1/5th match on the 3rd Sunday. And if you were really nuts, you went the 4th Sunday for Air Silhouette. I fell for it hook line and sinker.