30-30: One Load One Sight Setting?

Centerfires, rimfires, pistol cartridges and everything in between.
whiteside
Unclassified Poster

30-30: One Load One Sight Setting?

Post by whiteside »

Hello,

I am a new member and am going to my first match at the Tucson Rifle Club in a little less than a month. I'm a masters student at the U of A, so I am poor in cash and time... I just got a bargain on a Sears 54 (relabeled Win 94) in 30-30 with a Williams receiver sight. The sight is NOT click adjustable. I don't have enough time to work up reloads or do extensive test sighting in... I will probably be shooting factory 150 grain/2390 fps ammo since I don't have brass yet anyways.

I am wondering how common it is to use one load with one sight setting. Since I don't have easy elevation adjustments, I've been thinking about zeroing in so I would aim at the feet of the chicken. Seems like the trajectory of the 30-30 would be flat enough so that I could hit rams by aiming at their backs? I played around with trajectory tables and it doesn't seem too crazy. Does anyone have thoughts on sight hold-off as a technique? It's my only option for the short term, but I'm wondering how necessary a replacement rear sight or range-specific loads will be long term.

Looking forward to your responses.
cedestech
Distinguished Master Poster w/Palms
Distinguished Master Poster w/Palms

Re: 30-30: One Load One Sight Setting?

Post by cedestech »

Your going to need to put It on paper but yes, you should be able to make it all the way across with out a sight change. I use 3 different loads but no sight change. Make sure your not tearing up the chickens... match director might not be happy with you.... ;)
Emmett Dibble, Houston, Texas. Where's my buddy Jason? Keeper of electronic records and banisher of little pieces of paper?
snaketail2
AAA Poster
AAA Poster

Post by snaketail2 »