Cast or Jacketed bullets?

Centerfires, rimfires, pistol cartridges and everything in between.
reddnekked
Unclassified Poster
Location: Usually at the range, but wife likes it when I eat at home

Cast or Jacketed bullets?

Post by reddnekked »

Hi, I'm new to the forum, and I've been learning Lever Action Silhouette for the past two years.

Do most of you use cast bullets or jacketed bullets?
What is the lightest weight that is effective in 30-30?

Thanks,
I am Reddnekked
glen ring
Master Poster
Master Poster

Re: Cast or Jacketed bullets?

Post by glen ring »

We use both. Jeanne shoots a 170 grain cast bullet in her 30-30. I shoot jacketed bullets in mine..I have used bullets that weigh from 100 grains to 180 grains, but I like a 150 grain or 170 grain bullet.
Just Be Nice **==
snaketail2
AAA Poster
AAA Poster

Post by snaketail2 »

Cast bullets are a lot easier to find and we don't need to drive them very fast - so Cast for me.

FYI: The "Map of Silhouette Ranges" is very out of date. I would suspect there are many more clubs with Cowboy Silhouette matches, but they aren't listed. I'm currently looking into "Cowboy Action" events to see if there is anything I can shoot for practice. Where do you shoot?

M
PS: I got red-naked twice - I won't mix beer and schnapps again. I woke up naked on the couch- to the sound of my wife was laughing at me. (The 2nd time wasn’t funny at all.)
Overheard at the Dairy Queen "I live in Port Aransas,but I'm not from here...you can tell because I have all my own teeth."
44 mag
AAA Poster
AAA Poster

Post by 44 mag »

Jacketed for me 125 grain on chickens 150 for pigs and turkeys and 170 for rams. All 3 are very accurate if I do my part.
snaketail2
AAA Poster
AAA Poster

Post by snaketail2 »

44mag- are you using the same sight settings for all three bullet weights/target distances?