Remington Mod. 12 w/ peep sight

Centerfires, rimfires, pistol cartridges and everything in between.
ShooterX
Unclassified Poster

Remington Mod. 12 w/ peep sight

Post by ShooterX »

I'm new to silhouette and have only shot smallbore hunter class. Am wanting to try out cowboy action with my Remington Model 12 that has both the original iron sights and an original Lyman peep sight, which is the target type with a 1" disk and what I believe is a .04 peep hole, but I'm not experience with these peep sights. I also have Lyman peep sight for the Model 12 that is the hunter style with the fixed aperture ring that's not tapped for a target disk.

I've only played around with these peep sights a few times at the range but don't understand how you'd be able to have repeatable adjustments with them for each of the animal distances. I know you adjust the elevation by twisting the peep shaft up and down, but once the zero is set for chickens, how does everyone go about making sure it's always raised correctly for each of the next distances from match to match?

Thanks!

p.s. I'm assuming that the correct sight picture for using these peep sights would be the same as what you'd have with a M1, M1A or 03A3 with the top of the front sight in the middle of the aperture ring. Is that correct?
snaketail2
AAA Poster
AAA Poster

Re: Remington Mod. 12 w/ peep sight

Post by snaketail2 »

This is how many of us do it…your experiences may lead you down a different path, but this is a start.
First find the ammo your rifle likes best – the most accurate for your setup. You will see many shooters using Federal AutoMatch, but start with whatever you can find.