32 winchester special

Centerfires, rimfires, pistol cartridges and everything in between.
rr1220
B Poster
B Poster

32 winchester special

Post by rr1220 »

anyone shooting this caliber for centerfire, if so I am looking for some light 150gr cast loads and 170gr ram loads for recent purchase of Winchester model 64 32 ws
cslcAl
Master Poster
Master Poster

Re: 32 winchester special

Post by cslcAl »

I started shooting this game with a 94 Winchester 32 Spl, that has been in my family for over 100 years. I never shot any cast with it, but with a 170 jacketed bullet I used 28.0 grs of Reloader 7. It shot very well, and I never lost any Rams.
This caliber is limited in both bullet weights and vendor avalability.

Al Foust
Team Sierra Member
boats
AAA Poster
AAA Poster

Post by boats »

As I understand it and from memory, .32 WS was intended for shooters that wanted to stay with cast bullets when the 30/30 came out. Twist better for lead at modest speed and could still handle HS Jacketed. If anybody wants to know for sure could research it and give you the history from old books and manuals.

Anyhow cast bullet shooters always like 32 WS guns.

Boats
dhatch
AA Poster
AA Poster

Post by dhatch »

I shoot a M94 in .32 Win Special that shoots just fine. I really need a cast load. I can only find 170 gr cast bullets in .321, and I have zero experience with, and zero luck getting a cast load to shoot worth a flip. I do not have access to any old books and manuals. I would very much appreciate any information for a good cast load for chickens, pigs, and possibly turkeys. I have been having to use jacketed bullets for all.
Thanks Al, I will try your load as soon as I find some Reloader 7.
I really want to go to the CLA Nationals this year, but can't afford to prepare for, and shooting the local matches, shooting nothing but jacketed bullets. I am also scrambling around gathering up .22 mags, but is looking like I'll have enough.
Proud Member of the C. C. S. A.
boats
AAA Poster