22 mag: improving accuracy

Centerfires, rimfires, pistol cartridges and everything in between.
rr1220
B Poster
B Poster

22 mag: improving accuracy

Post by rr1220 »

I started shooting lever action PC last year using a 9422m and federal 50gr, started in a class and by the end of the year had made aaa.
when at the range getting better sight settings my 100m groups were 4-5", not good enough anymore if I want to shoot upper aaa or master. I know some will say to change caliber and others know that some rams are lost due to caliber choice which in fact is true, though for the most part the ones I hit fall. Back to my original concern, accuracy. I can say that I need to hit all targets more consistently and that all starts with consistent ammo.
So after having shoulder surgery and being off for the winter as well as having read everything I could find about reloading 22 mags on here and elsewhere I decided to give it a try, consistent accuracy being the goal, here is where I am going to start
TESTING @ 25 YDS SILHOUETTE SIGHTS
Federal 757 50gr 1500 fps .686 group
load#
1- factory ammo with bullet reseated @ 1.375 oal 1480 fps 1.0 group
2-factory load with sierra 45gr @ 1.375 oal 1430 fps .706
3-federal case with 6.5gr lil gun federal 50gr @ 1.375 1344 fps .618
4-federal case with 6.5gr lil gun sierra 46gr @1.375 1384 fps .58
cci 40gr hv 1910 fps .556 group
1-factory load 6.5 with sierra 45gr @ 1.375 oal 1860 fps .558 THESE 2 LOADS REQUIRE FUTHER TESTING
2-factory powder 6.8 gr sierra 45gr @ 1.375 2090 fps .325 AT DIFFERENT DISTANCES FOR
FOR MATCH USE

I am planning on getting to the range this week and check velocities and group size afterwards I will post my results.