New to the highpower game need advice.

More expensive to feed, but worth it.
trx498r
B Poster
B Poster

New to the highpower game need advice.

Post by trx498r »

Alright guys I'm new to the highpower game I'm needing some equipment tips. I'm having a rem 700 in 260 built by merrier with a 26" lilja match barrel. I've been reloading a couple years but just for hunting and pistol shooting. Looks like il be shooting lapua 260 brass sierra 107s and 142s with varget. Looking to get a good case trimmer, 260 dies and a accurate consistent scale. I'm using a good ol rock chucker press. Any help will be appreciated.
Snake
AAA Poster
AAA Poster

Re: New to the highpower game need advice.

Post by Snake »

If you're using a conventional press then Redding dies are the best. I like the Wilson case trimmer and I use a Hornady automatic charge thrower 'cause its fast and scale checked but the RCBS is a dandy. Good Luck :D
Jerry G
Uber Master Poster
Uber Master Poster

Post by Jerry G »

If you shoot reasonable loads (under 2700 fps) it should be a long time before you have to trim a case. I have a Forrester that trims to length and diameter at the samew time. Every time I reload my 6.5X47 I put the case in the trimmer and spin the handle. I have about 4 reloads on some of my cases and have yet to see any brass come off. I have some 243 brass that has been reloaded at least 15 times and I get a little brass shaving once in a while on them. I do believe that after about 10 reloads you should aneal the necks to avoid cracking. There is a good video on U-Tube showing how to do that.

Remember that we arn't shooting benchrest so you don't need 1/4 min groups. Have fun shooting.
Dee
Master Poster
Master Poster

Post by Dee »