Which Rem 700 model to choose?

More expensive to feed, but worth it.
Jetmugg
AAA Poster
AAA Poster

Which Rem 700 model to choose?

Post by Jetmugg »

I have to admit that I've got a case of HP Silo fever. I'm afraid that the only cure may be to "get in the game". I've been shooting SB silhouette for 3 years or so, and I think I'm ready to try HP as well.

I was just at Remington's website, looking for an appropriate Model 700 in .260, but I'm having a tough time finding the caliber offerings for the various models. A nice big spreadsheet style chart would be handy.

I was also thinking of a Savage, but in my heart would prefer a Rem 700.

If you were going to buy a new-in-the-box HP silhouette rifle, what would it be? I figure that I won't go wrong buying a Remington 700 in .260, but which specific model makes for the best silhouette rifle?

Opinions are appreciated.

SteveM.
Bob259
Uber Master Poster
Uber Master Poster

Post by Bob259 »

Remington 700 as you can always use that action if you go to a different caliber or decide to have a custom rifle built.
F Troop - Southwest Outpost

Proud Member of the Ram Slammers US Division (Two Bob)
Jetmugg
AAA Poster
AAA Poster

Rem 700

Post by Jetmugg »

I agree that a Rem 700 is my preferred choice. What I'm really trying to ask is which specific model within the Rem 700 lineup makes for the best out-of-the box Silhouette rifle. I got a bit confused by the various model designations offered by Remington, and I couldn't tell which ones are offered in .260.

Thanks,

SteveM.
Bob Mc Alice
Expert Master Poster
Expert Master Poster

Post by Bob Mc Alice »

The CDL Ltd. is the only M700 currently offered in .260 Rem. Remington used to have other models, but due to it's hard to believe un popularity by hunters and shooters, they only offer this model now.
mav
B Poster
B Poster

Post by mav »

Bob Mc Alice
Expert Master Poster
Expert Master Poster

Post by Bob Mc Alice »